02 August, 2011

The American Folk-Blues Festival - Volume One 1962-66 (music video)

The American Folk-Blues Festival -  Volume One 1962-66
blues | DVD5 PAL | PCM mono |  iso, cover | 4300MB
Universal | rel: 2003

Unearthed some 40 years after the fact, this has to be one of the finest blues collections ever assembled on video. Thanks to a couple of young promoters who brought the musicians to Europe--where they were treated with a good deal more respect and dignity than in America--we get an extraordinary lineup of bluesmen and women: Muddy Waters, Sonny Boy Williamson, Buddy Guy, John Lee Hooker, Sippie Wallace... the list goes on. Their concert performances (several in stagy but effective down-home settings) before a rather formal but appreciative German audience have them playing in some cool combinations (T-Bone Walker backing Memphis Slim, Otis Rush with Junior Wells), even introducing one another (Williamson on guitarist Lonnie Johnson, an elder statesman on the tour: "A very nice musician")--and all with great sound (mono, but still flawless) and visuals (in black and white). This is one for blues fans to treasure.

-01. Call Me When You Need Me
-02. Hootin' Blues
-03. The Blues Is Everywhere
-04. I Can't Quit You Baby
-05. Another Night to Cry
-06. Women Be Wise
-07. Hobo Blues
-08. Five Long Years
-09. Shakey's Blues
-10. Hoodoo Man Blues
-11. Mean Stepfather
-12. Going Down to the River
-13. Weak Brain and Narrow Mind
-14. Nine Below Zero
-15. Spann's Blues
-16. I've Got My Mojo Working
-17. Bye Bye Blues
-18. Walking the Floor Over You
-19. Off the Hook
~70 mins


durmoll said...

p: dada
READ IT! (about old publications):


Website counter