25 April, 2014


Charles Mingus, John LaPorta - Jazzical Moods (1954)

  Charles Mingus, John LaPorta - Jazzical Moods (1954)
jazz | 1cd | eac-flac-cue-log-covers | 235MB
OJC limited edition OJCCD-1857-2
Originally recorded for Period Records in 1954, this fairly obscure early Charles Mingus session is a collaboration with composer John LaPorta, who is heard on clarinet and alto saxophone. It's a fascinating effort that shows Mingus' awareness of both modern European classical composition and cool jazz.
The set includes a mix of Mingus and LaPorta originals, plus freshly arranged standards like "What Is This Thing Called Love" and "Stormy Weather." Also on hand are the great trumpeter Thad Jones and saxophonist/producer Teo Macero. The album features Mingus' debut on piano.

1. "What Is This Thing Called Love?" - 8:08
2. "Stormy Weather" - 3:18
3. "Minor Intrusion" - 10:13
4. "Abstractions" - 4:12
5. "Thrice Upon A Theme" - 6:40
6. "Four Hands" - 8:50
7. "The Spur Of The Moment/Echonitus" - 8:36

* Bass, Piano – Charles Mingus
* Cello – Jackson Wiley
* Clarinet, Alto Saxophone – John LaPorta
* Drums – Clem DeRosa*

04 April, 2014


Petra Haden And Bill Frisell - Petra Haden And Bill Frisell (2004)

  Petra Haden And Bill Frisell  - Petra Haden And Bill Frisell (2004)
jazz | 1cd | eac-flac-cue-log-covers | 265MB
Rykodisc/Hannibal HNCD1472
It's safe to say that most albums don't include renditions of tunes by Foo Fighters, George Gershwin, and Stevie Wonder, along with traditional Tuvan folk songs, together on the same track list. Unless, of course, you're referring to the 2005 disc by the duo of Bill Frisell and Petra Haden. One of the foremost guitarists in contemporary jazz, Frisell is renowned for his signature guitarscapes, heard through a galaxy of effects and loops. Haden is an eclectic vocalist/violinist formerly of the indie-pop group That Dog (and, incidentally, the daughter of jazz bass great Charlie Haden), whose singing is guileless, experimental, and endearing all at once.
Together, Haden and Frisell create an unexpected magic, with Frisell's shimmering chords and electronically embellished atmospheres providing the perfect pillow for Haden's sleepy, breathy voice (which she layers in harmonies to excellent effect). The songs--also including Coldplay's "Yellow," Henry Mancini's "Moon River," Tom Waits's "I Don't Want to Grow Up," and the Disney classic "When You Wish Upon a Star"--are incongruous only in theory. The lush, lullaby-like quality of the duo's sound gives the album a remarkably cohesive feel, highlighting the strength of the material and the chemistry of this unusual pair.

01. "Satelliteˇ- Elliott Smith - 2:37
02. "Floatyˇ- Dave Grohl - 6:55
03. "Bai-La Taigamˇ- Traditional - 5:22
04. "Moon Riverˇ- Henry Mancini / Johnny Mercer - 2:22
05. "Yellowˇ- Guy Berryman / Jon Buckland / Will Champion / Chris Martin - 4:39
06. "I Don't Want to Grow Upˇ- Kathleen Brennan / Tom Waits - 3:37
07. "The Quiet Roomˇ- Petra Haden - 4:21
08. "When You Wish Upon a Starˇ- Leigh Harline / Ned Washington - 2:34
09. "I Believeˇ- Stevie Wonder - 6:17
10. "John Hardy Was a Desperate Little Manˇ- Traditional - 2:40
11. "I've Got a Crush on Youˇ- George Gershwin / Ira Gershwin - 3:46
12. "Throughoutˇ- Bill Frisell - 4:02


Website counter