09 May, 2014

Kenny Burrell & Jimmy Raney - 2 Guitars (1957)

  Kenny Burrell & Jimmy Raney - 2 Guitars (1957)
jazz | 1cd | eac-flac-cue-log-covers | 165MB
For this 1957 studio session (which has been reissued on CD through the Original Jazz Classics imprint), the two distinctive but complementary guitarists Kenny Burrell and Jimmy Raney are teamed together in a septet with trumpeter Donald Byrd, altoist Jackie McLean, pianist Mal Waldron, bassist Doug Watkins, and drummer Art Taylor. The full group gets to stretch out on one original each by Watkins and McLean ("Little Melonae") and three from Waldron, while the two standards ("Close Your Eyes" and "Out of Nowhere") are individual features for Burrell and Raney. This is a well-rounded set that may not contain any real surprises, but will be enjoyed by collectors of hard bop.

1. "Blue Duke" - 8:50
2. "Dead Heat" - 4:07
3. "Pivot" - 5:13
4. "Close Your Eyes" (Bernice Petkere) - 4:50
5. "Little Melonae" (Jackie McLean) - 9:29
6. "This Way" (Doug Watkins) - 12:25
7. "Out of Nowhere" (Johnny Green, Edward Heyman) - 4:31

* Kenny Burrell (tracks 1-6), Jimmy Raney (tracks 1-3 & 5-7) - guitar
* Donald Byrd - trumpet (tracks 1-3, 5 & 6)
* Jackie McLean - alto saxophone (tracks 1-3, 5 & 6)
* Mal Waldron - piano
* Doug Watkins - bass
* Art Taylor - drums


durmoll said...

log & linx:

p: lworld
READ IT! (about old publications):

Pet said...

Thanks for this. This is another album that Mal Waldron should've got the main credit for, as he composed half the tracks and plays on all of them unlike Burrell and Raney, neither of whom composed anything either. I don't know the whole story but Waldron has other albums with this pattern, like "Interplay For 2 Trumpets and 2 Tenors" and "After Hours".

Matteo said...
This comment has been removed by the author.


Website counter