25 October, 2011

Kevin Ayers - Confessions of Dr. Dream and Other Stories (1974) (2009rem)

Kevin Ayers - Confessions of Dr. Dream and Other Stories (1974)
rock | 1cd | eac-flac-cue-log-cover | 555MB
EMI/Harvest | 2009 remaster
Kevin Ayers' fifth album, The Confessions of Doctor Dream and Other Stories, is typical of his work. He sings in his distinctive deep voice with his cultured English accent (sounding a lot like John Cale) in songs set in a variety of pop styles, from hard rock to a kind of music hall approach. He is frequently playful and engaging, although his songs don't ultimately add up to much. The album's second side contains an 18-minute suite called "The Confessions of Doctor Dream," featuring a cameo by Nico, which exemplifies Ayers' amiable if unfocused appeal.

-01. "Day By Day"
-02. "See You Later"
-03. "Didn't Feel Lonely Till I Thought Of You"
-04. "Everybody's Sometime And Some People's All The Time Blues"
-05. "It Begins With A Blessing / Once I Awakened / But It Ends With A Curse"
-06. "Ballbearing Blues"
-07-10. "The Confessions Of Doctor Dream (a) Irreversible Neural Damage (b) Invitation (c) The One Chance Dance (d) Doctor Dream Theme"
11. "Two Goes Into Four"
2009 reissue
-12. Another Whimsical Song (00:24)
-13. The Lady Rachel (03:53)
-14. Stop this Train (06:14)
-15. Didn't Feel Lonely 'til I Thought of You (04:36)
-16. The Up Song (03:18) (non-LP single A side)
-17. After the Show (02:37) (non-LP single A side)
-18. Thank You Very Much (03:01) (B side of the single 'After the Show')
Tracks 12-15 are recorded 7 July 1974 at the BBC's Maida Vale studios
Tracks 16-18 are B-sides of singles

Kevin Ayers - Guitar, Vocals
Mark Warner - Guitar
Cal Batchelor - Guitar
Rupert Hine - Keyboards, Producer
Mike Moran - Piano
Steve Nye - Organ
John Perry - Bass
John Gustafson - Bass
Michael Giles - Drums
Mike Oldfield - Guitar
Nico - Vocals on "Irreversible Neural Damage"
Geoff Richardson - Viola
Mike Ratledge - Organ
Ray Cooper - Percussion
Lol Coxhill - Alto Saxophone
Henry Crallan - Piano
Ollie Halsall - Guitar
Rosetta Hightower - Vocals
Hulloo Choir - Vocals
Trevor Jones - Bass
Sean Milligan - Vocals
Sam Mitchell - Guitar
Doris Troy - Vocals
Joanne Williams - Vocals
The G'Deevy Ensemble - Percussion


durmoll said...

log & linx
p: lworld
READ IT! (about old publications):


Website counter