05 March, 2012

Material - Seven Souls (1989)

Material - Seven Souls (1989)
rock | 1cd | eac-flac-cue-log-cover | 430MB
Triloka 1997
This release of Seven Souls should not be confused with the original issue, which came out on the Virgin label in 1989 and is now out of print. The Triloka reissue improves on the original by adding four remixed versions to the regular album tracks (placing them, strangely, at the head of the program instead of at the end) and by printing the William Burroughs' texts which function as the album's focal point. Those texts are fascinating and disturbing: on the title track, Burroughs explains ancient Egyptian beliefs about the gradual process of death, while Sly Dunbar delivers a modified dancehall beat underneath. On "Soul Killer," he speculates on whether the soul can survive nuclear assault, while the band attempts, apparently, to simulate nuclear devastation musically (the result is much more musically interesting in its remixed version). "The Western Lands" is the album's masterpiece, a travel guide for the soul with an eerily funky accompaniment of melodic eight-string bass and one-drop drumming. The remix is even better. In its original version, this was only a pretty good Material album; in this reissue, it's among the band's best.

-01 "The Western Lands" [a Dangerous Road Mix] (Laswell, Burroughs) – 8:31
-02 "Seven Souls" [Tim Simenon Mix] (Tim Simenon, Burroughs) – 7:06
-03 "Soul Killer" [Remote Control Mix by Terre Thaemlitz] (T Thaemlitz, Burroughs) – 8:15
-04 "Ineffect" (Bill Laswell, Nicky Skopelitis, William S. Burroughs, Simon Shaheen) – 7:34
-05 "Seven Souls" (Laswell, Burroughs) – 5:42
-06 "Soul Killer" (Laswell, Burroughs) – 4:32
-07 "The Western Lands" (Laswell, Skopelitis, Burroughs) – 6:54
-08 "Deliver" (Laswell, Skopelitis, Foday Musa Suso) – 5:48
-09 "Equation" (Laswell, Skopelitis, Rammellzee) – 5:06
-10 "The End of Words" (Laswell, Burroughs) – 5:06

* William S. Burroughs – voice
* Rammellzee – voice ("Equation")
* Foday Musa Suso – voice ("Deliver")
* Fahiem Dandan – voice ("Ineffect")
* Nicky Skopelitis – 6 and 12 string guitars, baglama, coral sitar, saz, Fairlight
* Simon Shaheen – violin
* L. Shankar – violin
* Bill Laswell – 4, 6 and 8-string basses, acoustic guitar, tapes, percussion
* Jeff Bova – electronic keyboards
* Sly Dunbar – drums, Fairlight
* Aïyb Dieng – percussion.
"The Western Lands" [a Dangerous Road Mix]
* Jah Wobble – bass
* Bill Laswell – bass samples
* Nicky Skopelitis – guitar
* Tetsu Inoue – electronics
* DJ Spooky – noise
"The Seven Souls" [The Secret Name]
* Alicia Renee aka Blue Eyes: vocals
* Nicky Skopelitis: guitar
* Bill Laswell: bass, keyboards, turntable


durmoll said...

log & linx:
p: lworld
READ IT! (about old publications):

Bhowani said...

Absolutely great post !
Thanks a lot, Durmoll !

santos curser said...

Something else I have never seen... and the musicians here look great.... thanks once more


Website counter