26 September, 2013

Bill Frisell - Have a Little Faith (1993)

Bill Frisell  - Have a Little Faith (1993)
jazz | 1cd | eac-flac-cue-log-cover | 330MB
Elektra/Nonesuch 7559-79301-2
Bill Frisell has long been one of the most unique guitarists around. Able to switch on a moment's notice from sounding like a Nashville studio player to heavy metal, several styles of jazz, and just pure noise, Frisell can get a remarkable variety of sounds and tones out of his instrument. This set features Frisell in a quintet with Don Byron (on clarinet and bass clarinet), Guy Klucevsek on accordion, bassist Kermit Driscoll, and drummer Joey Baron. To call the repertoire wide-ranging would be an understatement. In addition to eight melodies from Aaron Copland's Billy the Kid, Frisell and company explore (and often reinvent) pieces written by Charles Ives, Bob Dylan, Muddy Waters, Madonna, Sonny Rollins, Stephen Foster, and John Phillip Sousa. This is one of the most inventive recordings of the 1990s and should delight most listeners from any genre.

01. "The Open Prairie": from Billy the Kid (Copland) - 3:11
02. "Street Scene in a Frontier Town": from Billy the Kid (Copland) - 1:45
03. "Mexican Dance and Finale": from Billy the Kid (Copland) - 3:44
04. "Prairie Night (Card Game at Night)/Gun Battle": from Billy the Kid (Copland) - 5:02
05. "Celebration After Billy's Capture": from Billy the Kid (Copland) - 2:17
06. "Billy in Prison": from Billy the Kid (Copland) - 1:33
07. "The Open Prairie Again": from Billy the Kid (Copland) - 2:34
08. "The Saint-Gaudens in Boston Common": Excerpt 1 (Ives) - 0:41
09. "Just Like a Woman" (Dylan) - 4:49
10. "I Can't Be Satisfied" (Morganfield) (3:00)
11. "Live to Tell" (Leonard, Madonna) - 10:10
12. "The Saint-Gaudens in Boston Common": Excerpt 2 (Ives) - 3:05
13. "No Moe" (Rollins) - 2:37
14. "Washington Post March" (Sousa) - 2:05
15. "When I Fall in Love" (Heyman, Young) - 3:26
16. "Little Jenny Dow" (Foster) - 3:30
17. "Have a Little Faith in Me" (Hiatt) - 5:39
18. "Billy Boy" (Traditional) - 1:38
* Recorded at RPM Studios NYC March 1992

* Bill Frisell – guitar
* Don Byron – clarinet, bass clarinet
* Guy Klucevsek – accordion
* Kermit Driscoll – bass
* Joey Baron – drums



durmoll said...

log & linx:

p: lworld
READ IT! (about old publications):


Website counter