13 May, 2010

David Bowie - The Man Who Sold The World (1970) (2009 SHM cd) (XLD-log-cover)

David Bowie - The Man Who Sold The World (1970)
rock | 1cd | eac-flac-cue-log-cover | 350MB
EMI | (2009 SHM cd) | rar +5% recovery
Even though it contained no hits, The Man Who Sold the World, for most intents and purposes, is the beginning of David Bowie's classic period. Working with guitarist Mick Ronson and producer Tony Visconti for the first time, Bowie developed a tight, twisted heavy guitar rock that appears simple on the surface but sounds more gnarled upon each listen. The mix is off-center, with the fuzz-bass dominating the compressed, razor-thin guitars and Bowie's strangled, affected voice. The sound of The Man Who Sold the World is odd, but the music is bizarre itself, with Bowie's bizarre, paranoid futuristic tales melded to Ronson's riffing and the band's relentless attack. Musically, there isn't much innovation on The Man Who Sold the World — it is almost all hard blues-rock or psychedelic folk-rock — but there's an unsettling edge to the band's performance, which makes the record one of Bowie's best albums. [Rykodisc's 1990 CD reissue includes four bonus tracks, including the previously unreleased "Lightning Frightening," and the single "Holy Holy," and both sides of the 1971 "Arnold Corns" single, "Moonage Daydream" and "Hang On to Yourself," which are early and inferior versions of songs that would later appear on Ziggy Stardust.]

01 - The Width Of A Circle
02 - All The Madmen
03 - Black Country Rock
04 - After All
05 - Running Gun Blues
06 - Saviour Machines
07 - She Shook Me Cold
08 - The Man Who Sold The World
09 - The Superman
thx to mgubarenko


durmoll said...

p: lworld
read (about linx):


Website counter