12 September, 2010

Ella Fitzgerald - Ella In Hamburg (1965) (eac-log-cover)

Ella Fitzgerald - Ella In Hamburg (1965)
jazz | 1cd | eac-flac-cue-log-cover | 360MB
Verve | 2007 remaster
Ella Fitzgerald and the Tommy Flanagan Trio (the pianist is joined by bassist Keter Betts and drummer Gus Johnson) are in top form during this engaging 1965 concert in Hamburg, Germany; after being out of print for decades it finally was reissued on CD in Japan. She's at her best singing classic material such as the uptempo "That Old Black Magic" and a strutting take of "And the Angels Sing" (not a song one typically associates with Ella). She also is very effective on ballads such as "Body and Soul," "Here's That Rainy Day," and "Angel Eyes." Even though liner note writer implies that the Beatles' "A Hard Day's Night" is a great jazz vehicle, it is actually a resounding dud, as was often the case when the singer ventured into covering rock hits of the 1960s and 1970s. But an occasional misfire should not dissuade anyone from acquiring this CD, as Ella Fitzgerald is in great voice throughout the performance, and Tommy Flanagan's accompaniment is matchless.

01. "Walk Right In" (Gus Cannon, Hosea Woods) – 3:43
02. "That Old Black Magic" (Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer) – 4:20
03. "Body and Soul" (Frank Eyton, Johnny Green, Edward Heyman, Robert Sour) – 4:46
04. "Here's That Rainy Day" (Sonny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen) – 3:41
05. "And the Angels Sing" (Ziggy Elman, Mercer) – 4:00
06. "A Hard Day's Night" (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) – 3:21
07. Ellington Medley: "Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me"/"Mood Indigo"/"It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)" (Barney Bigard, Duke Ellington, Irving Mills, Bob Russell) – 6:38
08. "The Boy from Ipanema" (Antonio Carlos Jobim, Norman Gimbel, Vinícius de Moraes) – 3:04
09. "Don't Rain on My Parade" (Bob Merrill, Jule Styne) – 3:19
10. "Angel Eyes" (Earl Brent, Matt Dennis) – 3:39
11. "Smooth Sailing" (Arnett Cobb) – 4:07
12. "Old MacDonald Had a Farm" (Traditional) – 3:51

* Ella Fitzgerald - Vocals
* Tommy Flanagan Trio:
* Tommy Flanagan - Piano
* Keter Betts - Bass
* Gus Johnson - Drums
Recorded March 26, 1965, in Hamburg, Germany


durmoll said...

p: lworld

durmoll said...

read (about linx):


Website counter