13 December, 2010

Captain Beefheart - Mirror Man Sessions (1967) (eac-log-covers)

Captain Beefheart - Mirror Man Sessions (1967)
rock, blues, avantgarde | 1cd | eac-flac-cue-log-cover | 505MB
BMG/Buddha records | 1999 remaster
The Mirror Man Sessions features the complete remastered contents of Mirror Man, albeit in a resequenced running order, and fills out the rest of the CD with a number of bonus tracks taken from additional recordings, both finished and unfinished, made around the same time for what would have been a double album titled It Comes to You in a Plain Brown Wrapper. As a listening experience, the package will appeal more to those who value the instrumental Beefheart; the Mirror Man album is, of course, essentially a 50-plus-minute jam session, containing as it does only four songs, and the bonus tracks -- many of which appeared on the One Way label's reissue of Safe as Milk -- mostly consist of jams and instrumentals which push the boundaries of conventional blues-rock, with a Beefheart vocal tossed in here and there. Some may miss Beefheart's surreal poetry, gruff vocals, and/or free jazz influence, while others may find it fascinating to hear the Magic Band simply letting go and cutting loose.

-1. "Tarotplane" – 19:08
-2. "25th Century Quaker" – 9:50
-3. "Mirror Man" – 15:46
-4. "Kandy Korn" – 8:06
-5. "Trust Us" (Take 6) – 7:14
-6. "Safe as Milk" (Take 12) – 5:00
-7. "Beatle Bones n' Smokin' Stones" – 3:11
-8. "Moody Liz" (Take 8) – 4:32
-9. "Gimme Dat Harp Boy" – 3:32

* Captain Beefheart – vocals, harmonica, oboe
* Alex St. Clair Snouffer – guitar
* Jeff Cotton – guitar
* Mark Marcellino: keyboards
* John French – drums
* Jerry Handley – bass


durmoll said...

log & linx:
p: lworld

durmoll said...

read (about linx):


Website counter