20 December, 2010

Gong - Flying Teapot (The Radio Gnome Invisible pt 1) (1973)

Gong - Flying Teapot (The Radio Gnome Invisible pt 1) (1973)
rock | 1cd | eac-flac-cue-log-cover | 220MB
SI-WAN Records SRMC 4007
Produced by Giorgio Gomelsky, notable for his work with the Yardbirds, Brian Auger, and Magma, this relatively early Gong project is a great representation of the Daevid Allen-era Gong. Though not as intricate as its follow-up companion piece, Angel's Egg, The Flying Teapot is more of a true prog/space rock outing, where hippie-trippy lyrics and space whispering abound, as evidenced in the opening track, "Radio Gnome Invisible." The following cut, "Flying Teapot," is the sprawling highlight of the album. At times reminiscent of some early Weather Report jams, though not as jazzy, the tune features prominent bass, standout percussion/drums, and space whispering courtesy of Smyth. Improvisational groaning and percussion bring this jam to a close. "Pothead Pixies" is a fun pop (pot?) tune which probably received very little, if any, airplay due to the lyrics, followed by Blake's brief synth interlude, "The Octave Doctors and the Crystal Machine." "Zero the Hero and the Witch's Spell," another lengthy composition, features Malherbe's sax playing, which, at this early point in the Gong evolution, is credited for most of the jazz sounds heard in the music (remember, Pierre Moerlen has yet to join the band). This cut becomes quite heavy near its end before making a clever transition into the final cut, "Witch's Song/I Am Your Pussy." Here you hear Smyth's strange, sexually explicit lyrics, which she embellishes with ethereal voicings and cackling. This, combined with a jazzy sax from Malherbe and some very groovy musical lines near the closing, make for another fun tune.

-1. "Radio Gnome Invisible" (Allen) - 5:30
-2. "Flying Teapot" (Allen/Moze) - 12:30
-3. "The Pot Head Pixies" (Allen) - 3:00
-4. "The Octave Doctors & The Crystal Machine" (Blake) - 2:00
-5. "Zero The Hero & The Witch's Spell" (Allen/Blake/Tritsch) - 9:45
-6. "Witch's Song/I Am Your Pussy" (Smyth / Allen) - 5:10

The original personnel listing is as follows:
* PON voicebox - Dingo Virgin & Hi T Moonweed the favourite
* Orgone box & space whisper - the Good Witch Yoni
* VCS 3box Cynthia size A & crystal machine - Hi T Moonweed the favourite
* Split sax ie tenna & soprasax & so flooth - The Good Count Bloomdido Bad De Grass
* Gitbox - Stevie Hillside (spermguitar & slow whale), The Submarine Captain (sideral slideguitar & Dogfoot), Dingo Virgin & others (aluminium croonguitar & stumblestrum)
* VCS3 fertilised elect piano & left bank uptightright pno & Shakesperian meat bass - Francis Bacon
* Drumbox kicks and knocks - Lawrence the alien
* Congox - Rachid Whoarewe the Treeclimber
* Road crew & trux - Venux De Luxe
* Switch doctor - Wiz De Kid LIGHTS & Duke

These pseudonyms, in turn represented:
* Daevid Allen - vocals, guitar
* Gilli Smyth - vocals
* Tim Blake - keyboards, vocals
* Didier Malherbe - saxes, flute
* Steve Hillage - guitar
* Christian Tritsch - guitar
* Francis Moze - keyboards, bass
* Laurie Allan - drums
* Rachid Houari - percussion


durmoll said...

log & linx:
p: lworld

durmoll said...

read (about linx):


Website counter